Coolbinia West Perth Cricket Club

In the beginning...........

Coolbinia West Perth Cricket Club was formed in 1995/96 out the amalgamtion of Central Districts and Coolbinia Yokine.Coolbinia Yokine was founded in 1894 as G & R Wills and the club  participated in the Perth Mercantile Cricket Association in 1900.G & R Wills played in the PMCA until 1922/23 then went on to play in the Metropolitan Cricket Association.The origins of the Metropolitan CA are not so certain,with a school of thought that the association was born in 1922/23 when the Senior Church CA first came into prominence.The six teams,viz.Charles St Wesleyans,St Albans,St Barnabas,St Georges,St Hildas and St Pauls comprised mainly junior cricketers from the city based churches.A number of district clubs including G & R Wills affiliated in the late 1920's and the name changed to Metropolitan Senior CA was made at the start of the 1931/32 season.

Cricket was played at the Esplanade in the early 1900's.

The boundaries of both associations have overlapped from the very beginning and even the flow and ebb of team numbers have been mirrored through the history of both organisations,at least until the 1960's.Now that the Perth Cricket Association has been created,the origins,history and traditions of both the Coolbinia and West Perth cricket clubs should not be forgotten.

West Perth began in the Metropolitan SA as Russell Square in 1935/36.A group of brothers the Keyser's,the Varis' and the Sheridans' trained at Russell Square.The brother's approached the MCA about entering a team.The entrance fee was 5shilling and Russell Square was entered.The first set of fixtures was published in the West Australian newspaper on 19th October 1935.They played Hurlingham at Hurlingham in the 'B2' grade 

Russell Square 1935/36

 G & R Wills participated in A Reserve grade in its history until 1977/78 when it entered first grade.The name changed to Forrest Park and home games were played there.Forrest Park played off in the Grand Final in 1978/79 against arch rivals Leederville and lost.1979/80 saw many newinnovations that where taken commencing with the amalgamation of the former Forrest Park Cricket Club and the Morley Cricket Club to form a strong team of players known as the Morley Windmills Cricket Club.New players were encouraged to join the club and an incentive scheme was set up to create a competitive interest within the club.Morley Windmills won back to back premierships in 1979/80 and 1980/81 and again in 1983/84 and 1984/85.From 1978/79 to 1985/86 they played in eight straight first grade grand finals and won four.Billy Bridges arguably the best batsman in the competition,Peter 'Whale' Davies,Alan Jones,Adrian Scott,Greg Kent were some of the best players Windmills produced.In 1987/88 Windmills moved to Yokine new clubrooms were built and the name changed to Coolbinia Yokine.


West Perth played in first grade Grand Finals from 1962/63 to 1969/70 winning seven of the eight.Brian France and Keith Randell played a huge part in those years.France and Randell had a formidable partnership in those years.In 1964/65 saw them in consecutive partnerships - 208 v Leederville,134 v Woodville,128 v South Belmont,107 v Osborne Park,45 v East Perth,114 v Leederville,55 v Woodville.In all they had nine opening partnerships of over 100.The others being 190 v Hellenic 1968/69,127 v Leederville 1968/69,127 v Osborne Park 1968/69,127 v Woodville 1968/69.A truly remarkable performance by two great batsmen.In 1964/65 Randell made 637 runs and France 635.Harry Varis who was a original member of the very first side for West Perth back in 1935/36 was a expressive player of his day.His bowling in his early days was positively violent in its intensity.His whole attitude towards the game was so dynamic,his fielding was sensational,his batting brilliant.He was known as the 'Greyhound'. 

 Harry Varis

David Cosson and Brian Buttsworth were also legends of the club.Cosson was a fast left hand bowler in 75 first grade matches collected 337 wickets at 9.62.Took five or more wickets in a innings 26 times and ten or more wickets in a match six times.Buttsworth was a all rounder with 4122 runs and 383 wickets and captain the side many times.Buttsworth retired in 1976 and Cosson in 1970.Both players are life members of the club.

West Perth went on to win more premierships and new stars were born.The Gerreyn family Russell,Stuart,Chris and Cameron went on to play.Russell has over 380 games for the club.The Martin family was also active with the club Wally played after retiring from football with Subiaco,Bruce Stark a life member and former president of the club,his son Curtis now a young and up and coming star.Bryce Alexander has been a fine player for the club over many years.Dennis Freind,Gino Giamboi,Paul Dickson,Charles Marlam,Jeff Stephenson,Len Peterson have been club stalwarts.To the new players of today John Taylor,Leon Burrows,Ryan Barndon and Tony Bassett to name a few the club is going forward with young players coming through the grades.

Coolbinia West Perth is in its 13th season since the amalgamation has a proud tradition.Like any club's it has to endure hardships along the way but these have only served to strengthen its resolve.Many many fine players and administrators,who come before us,laid the foundation of our club.Some are still living and many have passed on.This history is a much a recognition of their fine contribution as to our modern day fraternity of dedicated people. 







                                   Jim McKinney                                          Russell Gerreyn

                            Roy Davies                                             Bruce Stark

                            Noel Palmer                                            Rob McKrill

                            Harry Varis                                             Jeff West

                            Brian Buttsworth                                     Gino Giamboi

                            Geoff Hamel                                           Trevor Craib

                            Vic Robertson                                         Peter Westgate

                            David Cosson                                         Greg Martin

                            Keith Randell                                          Gregg Mumme

                            Ken Colledge                                          Paul Dickson

                                                                                       Barry Richardson

                                                                                       Dennis Freind

                                                                                       Jeff Stephenson